HARROW Athletic Club's Adam Bowden ran his second best ever time in finishing third in the A 3000 metres race at the British Milers Club Grand Prix event at Watford's Woodside Stadium on Saturday.

The 25-year-old Commonwealth Games steeplechaser was the only athlete to follow the pacemaker through a fast opening lap of 62 seconds, and the pair stayed well clear of the field until Bowden took the lead with just over 1500 metres to go.

The chasing pack closed him down, and Ireland's James Nolan went clear with 200 metres to go.

In a frenetic finishing straight, Michel Buttler from the Netherlands also came past Bowden, but the Harrow man held off a strong British field, including top internationals Mike Skinner, Frank Tickner and James Thie, to take third spot in 8.01.84.

Mark McIntosh rolled back the years to win the C race in a superb 8.33.0, his best time since 2001.

He stayed in the pack, but produced a very fast last 800 metres to sweep past the leader and take victory.

Peter Norris improved his best by some 16 seconds in clocking 8.37.91, while Matt Carey, who was suffering from a virus, could only manage 9.15.51.

Earlier, Junior Ejehu broke the Club under-20 200 metres record in winning the Middlesex County title at Barnet Copthall Stadium with the superb time of 21.39. He also took the 100 metres in 10.64.

Liam Clancy took the under-17 shot and discus double, recording 13.18 and 37.33 respectively. James Okeyemi won the triple jump with 12.97 metres, while Tom Paterson won the 1500 metres steeplechase.

Luke Roach-Christie won the under-15 discus (32.41) and took second in the shot (12.02).

Eloise Newman was an impressive winner of the women's high jump with a superb 1.80 metres, while Angela Barrett took the triple jump with 12.02 metres.

Hayley Comer won the under-20 400 metres and 400 metres hurdles, while Leigh Lattimore ran a fast 10.14.17 to take the 3000 metres, and Katie James won the 100 metres hurdles in 16.08.

Yolanda Hutchinson won the under-17 100 metres in a fast 12.38 from clubmate Dymond Smith, who also won the 200 metres in 25.65.

UK number one Kadeem GreenidgeSmith returned to top form in winning the Hertfordshire under-20 long jump title with a leap of 6.88.

Stefan Greenidge set a new best of 6.54 to take the under-17 title, while Philippa Lowe enjoyed a winning double, taking the under-17 400 metres in 59.10, and the 800 metres in 2.17.50.