This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.

Tories retain two vacant seats in Kensington & Chelsea by-election

Sarah Addenbrooke and Anne Cyron were elected to the Abingdon ward

The Conservatives held the two seats in the Kensington & Chelsea Abingdon ward by-election

Conservatives have comfortably held on to two seats being contested in a Kensington and Chelsea by-election.

The poll was called after long-standing councillors Joanna Gardner and Lady Victoria Borwick, who was voted Kensington MP in 2015, decided to step down from the Abingdon ward.

Two two seats went to Sarah Addenbrooke and Anne Cyron, who polled 1,716 and 1,470 votes respectively. There was a 46.4% turnout.

Lady Borwick stepped down as expected after she was elected into parliament following the resignation of previous incumbent Sir Malcolm Rifkind .

The election took place on May 5, the same day as London went to polls to choose a new mayor and London Assembly too. You can follow those results as they come in here .

Abingdon Ward by-election results:

Name Party Votes

ADDENBROOKE, Sarah Ann Louise

Conservative 1716

BOVILL, Alfred John Sherer,


BRAINE, Richard William Maguire


CYRON, Anne Barbara

Conservative 1470

FERNANDO, Benjamin Alexander

Labour 395

GOOD, Jeremy Andrew

Lib Dem 220

OWEN, Jonathan Robert

Lib Dem 210

WILKINS, Nigel Charles

Labour 298
View full mobile page