whats on

Christmas holiday dates: How to get 10 days off during the festive period by taking just three days' holiday

By taking these three days off, you can have an extra long festive break!

There are dozens of sleeps to go before we can about the the man in the big red suit again.

Yes, we are of course talking about Christmas - the most wonderful time of the year!

But what could make the festive period even more special? Extra time off work sounds like the perfect present.

Luckily, the way Christmas falls in 2017 means some of us will be able to finish work on December 22 and not return until January 2.

How does that work? Well, employees will only have to book off December 27 to 29, according to the Birmingham Mail .

This is because Christmas Eve is a Sunday and Christmas Day is a Monday, meaning most employees wouldn't be at work anyway.

New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day then fall on a Sunday and Monday respectively, meaning you have the Tuesday off (New Year's Day), before returning to work on January 2.

Confused? Here’s what’s happening:

  • Friday December 22 - Normal working day
  • Saturday December 23 - Weekend
  • Sunday December 24 - Christmas Eve
  • Monday December 25 - Christmas Day
  • Tuesday December 26 - Boxing Day
  • Wednesday December 27 - Normal working day
  • Thursday December 28 - Normal working day
  • Friday December 29 - Normal working day
  • Saturday December 30 - Weekend
  • Sunday December 31 - New Year's Eve
  • Monday January 1 - New Year's Day
  • Tuesday January 2 - Normal working day

Keep up to date with the latest news in west London via the free getwestlondon app.

You can set up your app to see all the latest news and events from your area, plus receive push notifications for breaking news.

Available to download from the App Store or Google Play for Android .

View full mobile page